2016 Australia Day Award nominations open

oz dayNominations for the 2016 Ballina Shire Australia Day Awards are now open.

The Australia Day Awards program brings the community together each and every year to recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of community minded individuals and groups in our Shire.

Local institutions, service organisations and individuals have a good understanding of the people, and groups, who make a significant contribution to our community.

Ballina Shire Council is seeking your help in recognising these people and groups for a Ballina Shire Australia Day Award.

There are six categories for recognition:

 Young Citizen of the Year (30 years or under)

 Senior Citizen of the Year (60 years or over)

 Volunteer of the Year

 Sports Award (individual or team)

 Arts/Cultural Award  Community Event of the Year.

The Citizen of the Year award will be selected by the Australia Day Committee from all of the nominees across the six categories. Council is seeking nominations in each category.

All individual nominees must be Australian citizens and reside in the Ballina Shire local government area.

The Award winners will be announced at the official Australia Day ceremony to be held on Tuesday 26 January 2016 at the Lennox Head Cultural and Community Centre. Further information about the ceremony and other associated activities will be publicised closer to the date.

Award Nomination Forms can be obtained online from Council’s website www.ballina.nsw.gov.au or from Council’s Customer Service Centre, 40 Cherry Street Ballina. Nominations close on Sunday 6 December 2015.

To find out more about the Awards Program please contact Council’s Events and Grants Support Officer, Ms Holly Archibald on telephone 6686 1284.

PICTURE: This year’s Citizen of the Year Mary O’Brien with mayor David Wright and Australia Day ambassador, ABC 7.30 report presenter Leigh Sales.

Comments are closed.

© 2003 - 2019 Ballina.info - All Rights Reserved
Designed and maintained by eMedia Worx